ABOUT US

HISTORY

In 2003, Michigan received a grant from Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) to develop and implement a five-year plan to improve the oral health of Michigan residents. Towards this effort, the Michigan Department of Community Health (MDCH) contracted with Michigan Primary Care Association (MPCA) to provide support and assistance in the development of a statewide Oral Health Coalition.

 

On December 11, 2003, MDCH and MPCA hosted a Coalition kick-off event with more than 130 people in attendance. At this event, MDCH Director Janet Olszewski stressed the important role of the Coalition and the commitment of MDCH to assist the Coalition in the development of a plan of action for submission to the State. At the kick-off, participants identified a mission, outlined important issues and described oral health assets in Michigan. In 2005, the Coalition received 501(c)3 status, began member recruitment, drafted bylaws, and increased its advocacy strategies for oral health.

OUR MISSION

EDUCATE AND GROW

Michigan Oral Health Coalition is a 501c3 non-profit whose mission is to improve oral health in Michigan by focusing on prevention, health promotion, oral health data, access and the link between oral health and overall health. Vision: By 2020, all Michiganders will have the knowledge, support, and care they need to achieve optimal oral health.

Product Image

THE BOARD

President

Kimberly Singh, MA, CHES

My Community Dental Centers

ksingh@mydental.org


President Elect

Jim Milanowski

Genesee Health Plan

jmilanowski@countyhealthplans.org


Secretary

Faiyaz Syed, MD, MPH

Michigan Primary Care Association

fsyed@mpca.net


Treasurer

William Ridella, MPH, MBA, RD

Macomb County Health Department

bill.ridella@macombgov.org


Past President

Michele Strasz, MPA

Catalyst for Action Consultants

mpstrasz@outlook.com


At-Large Member

Mert Aksu, DDS, JD, MHSA

University of Detroit Mercy

aksumn@udmercy.edu


At-Large Member

Stacey Murphy

Kent County Oral Health Coalition

smurphy@healthnetwm.org”


At-Large Member

Holli Seabury

Delta Dental Foundation

hseabury@deltadentalmi.com


At-Large Member

Dr. Drew Stern

Children’s Dental Care: Pediatric Dentists

drewstern@gmail.com


Ex-Officio

Christine M. Farrell, RDH, BSDH, MPA

Michigan Department of Health and Human Services

FarrellC@michigan.gov